On Thursday, 14 September, SMGS held its annual Snowsports Presentation Night at Rydges Horizons in Jindabyne.

National team member participation certificates were handed out, as well as ASSSTCs team medals, Interschools all-rounder medals, best-in-discipline awards, and ESA awards, as well as our perpetual shields:

The Bentley and Talia Major Award for Outstanding Interschools Performance 

-The Sue West Award for Outstanding Interschools Performance by a Junior School Student

-The Coates Family Trophy for Junior Snowsports

-The Kable Family Trophy for Snowsports Athlete of the Year.

The 2017 recipients of the awards were as follows:

Interschools All-Rounder Awards

Presented to Interschools team members who participated in four or more events at National level. This is the epitome of snowsports participation at SMGS.

Isabelle Beaton – 6
Eve Donnelly – 6
Charles Beaton – 5
Mackenzie Harding – 5
Thomas McMenamin – 5
Fletcher Thew – 5
Aidan Machin – 4
Jack Machin – 4
Ally Quinn – 4
Billy Brown – 4
Cassie Nicholls – 4
Finn Sadler – 4
Letitia Murphy – 4
Sam Stynes-Garratty – 4


  • 2nd in the ASSSTCs Championships
  • 1st place in Snowboard
  • 1st place in Alpine


Charles Beaton, Isabelle Beaton, Cole Bulluss, Declan Burke, Abbey Clark, Eve Donnelly, Ambrose Hansen, Mackenzie Harding, Jake Kennedy, Aidan Machin, Jack Machin, Rebecca Matthes, Cody Maxwell, Campbell Oatley, Madison Rager and Sarah Ryan.


In its second year, the ESA program grew from 22 students to 38. This is a wonderful achievement and it was great to see so many students having the experience of a lifetime. Thank you to Mr Tim Gregson and Ms Annabel Elliot for their tireless work throughout the season.

2017 ESA Award-Winners

Chester Foot: Most Valuable Person

Jesse Quinn: Most Improved Skier

Amy Pillinger: Most Improved Snowboarder

Tom Gannon: Best Attitude.

2017 SMGS Best-in-Discipline Awards

These awards go to athletes who have competed at the highest level during the snowsports season. Results are considered from schools events, FIS, Children’s Cup and sponsored events in Open and Age Group competition.

Best Alpine Skier

Theo Coates
Antonia Murphy

Best Snowboarder

Finn Sadler
Georgia Crisp

Best Freestyle

Charles Beaton
Danielle Butt

Best Slopestyle

James Findlay
Isabelle Beaton

Best Cross-Country Skier

Bentley Walker-Broose

The Bentley and Talia Major Award for Outstanding Interschools Performance

This award was presented by the Major family to recognise an outstanding contribution to SMGS Interschools performances.  Bentley and Talia contributed an enormous amount to our Interschools teams in their time here at the school and Talia still holds the amazing record of a podium finish at Nationals in all seven disciplines on several occasions – one which may not have been equalled by anyone from any school to date.

The winner of this trophy for 2017 is: Charles Beaton.

The Sue West Award for Outstanding Interschools Performance by a Junior School Student

Mrs Sue West has been involved in Interschools Snowsports for over 30 years at Monaro High, St Pat’s Cooma and SMGS. She has been a senior official at Interschools races for a number of years. This award goes to a Junior School student who has performed at a high level in a range of disciplines at the Interschools Snowsports Championships during the year.

The winner of this trophy for 2017 is: Ally Quinn.

 The Coates Family Trophy for Junior Snowsports

This award has been donated by Theo and Matilda Coates, both of whom are well known as wonderful snowsports athletes. This award is presented to a junior member of the Snowsports team who has shown development in their sport. This is a young athlete who has been committed to their team and shown excellent sportsmanship, whilst maintaining an academic focus.

The winner of this trophy for 2017 is: Abbey Wilson.

The Kable Family Trophy for Snowsports Athlete of the Year

This award is for sportsmanship and team performance at Interschools.  The award is presented to students who have exhibited dedication to their teams at all levels of competition, reliably participating, supporting other team members, giving of their best at all times, in all conditions and at all levels of achievement over a period of years.  They have offered peer support and assistance to the Head of Snowsports.  They consistently wear correct school uniform and personify the true definition of sportsmanship.

The winner of this trophy for 2017 is: Joshua Kuner.

The National Championships sees us bid farewell to the Year 12 students in 2017 and we hope we’ve been able to send you out on a high. Best of luck with your future endeavours and hopefully we’ll see you back to share your future success with Team SMGS!

Congratulations to all SMGS students, and thank you to all the parents, coaches and staff who helped to make the 2017 snowsports season a fun and successful one. We wouldn’t have been able to do it without you.