The 2019 Amelia McGuiness Australian Snowsports Development Foundation (AMASDF) Scholarship recipients were announced at a special ceremony to acknowledge the 10th anniversary of the foundation. Cath and Sam McGuiness, along with Snow Australia President Dean Gosper, were on hand to congratulate the scholarship recipients. 

The AMASDF is recognised and commended throughout the snowsports community for its contribution to and support of up-and-coming athletes. In the ten years since the foundation was established, in honour of Amelia McGuiness, a gifted and talented athlete and student, the committee has awarded $212,160 in snowsports scholarships. This has been achieved through the ongoing support of schools, the resorts, families, individuals and the business community.

The foundation is dedicated to supporting developing athletes who have shown commitment to their training and sport, as they move up the pathway to become an elite athlete in snowsports in the future. Selections are made often with advice and support of Snow Australia northern discipline committees and head coaches. 

In its tenth year of operation, the AMASDF received over sixty-five applications requesting assistance from young athletes from NSW, ACT and QLD.

In determining the grant recipients for 2019, the committee reflected upon the individuals’ performance levels, dedication to training and development, the potential for achievement over the next twelve months, and the quality of the application. 

Congratulations to the all the 2019 Scholarship holders, in particular the SMGS students:

Abbey Wilson, Benjamin Wynn, Cassandra Nicholls, Charlotte Wilson, Flynn Mooney, Jack Hirst, James Peake, Joey Steggall, Letitia Murphy, Lottie Lodge.

Photos: Steve Cuff