The Australian Mathematics Competition – Results

In Term 3, sixty-four SMGS students across Years 3 to 12 participated in the 2021 Australian Mathematics Competition.

“The AMC is an engaging thirty-problem competition that demonstrates the importance and relevance of mathematics in students’ everyday lives; it is open to students in Years 3 to 12. Australia’s leading educators and academics, with a deep understanding of our national curriculum standards, actively design the unique AMC problems each year.”

This year, our students achieved:

11 Distinctions

20 Credits

This is a fantastic achievement and all students who elected to do the Australian Mathematics Competition are commended on their efforts.

Year 3

Dasha Jolley – Distinction

Year 4

Joseph Pratt – Credit

Henry McArthur – Credit

Madeline Lloyd – Credit

Year 5

Willow Philpott – Distinction

Kieren Bell – Credit

Lawson Wright – Credit

Axel Lyster – Credit

Tynan Plum – Credit

Year 6

Zac Rowland – Distinction – Best Standardised Test in the School

Zara Hensgen – Distinction

Charlie Wheeldon – Distinction

Samuel Lloyd – Distinction

Harry Young – Credit

Year 7

Georgette Philpott – Distinction

Patrick Rennie – Distinction

Stephanie Connell – Credit

Year 8

James Peake – Credit

Jessie Frize – Credit

Tulli Oayda – Credit

Olivia Roche – Credit

Year 9

Jack Perkins – Distinction

Sophie Watson – Credit

Elise Philpott – Credit

Charlotte Walker-Broose – Credit

Year 10

Nat Cunninghame – Distinction

Banjo Byrnes – Credit

Ely Frize – Credit

Year 11

Oliver Binsted – Distinction 

For students who did not receive their certificates, they will be presented early in 2022.